sexta-feira, 31 de julho de 2015

FINA World Championships New Zeland Open Water Day 1

Rotorua swimmer Kane Radford has finished 30th in the men’s 10km Open Water Swim at the FINA World Swimming Championships in Russia.

The 24 year old, who was New Zealand’s flagbearer at the opening ceremony, lost ground when the slick pace went up another notch on the final 2.5km lap on the Kazanka River.

The Pan Pacific Championship bronze medallist managed a creditable 1hr51m29s to finish 1m29s behind winner Jordan Wilimovsky (USA).

The New Zealander positioned himself in the main pack that reeled off three successive 28 minute laps but when Wilimovsky moved through the field from near last, he pushed up the pace.

Only a handful could stay with him as Radford joined some illustrious swimmers including Olympic champion Ous Mellouli (TUN) and early leader Gergely Gyurta (HUN) who found the pace too hot.

The American, not included in many pre-race predictions, won in 1:49:48 from Dutchman Ferry Weertman who out-touched defending champion Spyridon Gianniotis (GRE) for the podium placings.

There was a race within the race with the top 10 swimmers qualifying for the Rio Olympics. There was a dead-heat for the final two spots between last year’s 10km open water series winner Allan Do Carmo (BRA) and Federico Vanellio (ITA).

“It was not the result I was looking for. I felt good through the middle stages of the race but that last bit again I really need to continue to work on,” Radford said.

“I guess now I have to quickly move on. I have a year to focus on the next qualifying race and I need to have a better showing than that to put my hand up for the Olympics.

“In the guys’ field it is so stacked and on any given day anyone can get up it is that close.”

Radford has one further chance of Olympic nomination at the second qualifying event in May next year where a further nine places are available.

New Zealand’s Charlotte Webby is in action tomorrow in the women’s 10km race among 61 starters including London Olympic champion Eva Risztov (HUN), defending world champion Poliana Okimoto (BRA), the Pan Pacific winner Haley Anderson (USA) and World Cup leader Ana Marcela Cunha (BRA).

The rest of the New Zealand team are at their staging camp in Barcelona with the pool competition to start on 2 August.

Results: Jordan Wilimovsky (USA) 1:49:48, 1; Ferry Weertman (NED) 1:50.00.3, 2; Spyridon Gianniotis (GRE) 1:50:00.7, 3.
Also: Kane Radford (NZL) 1:51:29, 30.


Nenhum comentário: